Do you really have to clean your tank?

fishdude

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Do you really have to clean your tank every week. And what if you don't have a backup tank where do you put your fish. I'm really confused and I am new at this and i'm getting fish in August. What 3 should i get for my aquarium a johanni cichild, a snail, A krib, a african frog, or a black angel? Please answer. :huh: :blink: :S

Tank maintenance is extremely dependant fishdude. Your water, tank size, substrate, filtration, type and number of fish, plants, even where in the house the tank is. After a tank cycles, scheduling maintenance just has to be worked out. You shouldn't clean everything all at once but come up with an alternating plan to vacume the gravel one week along with a water change, rinse algae of fake plants or rocks the next week with a water change, then filter maintenance the next week with a water change, ect. Some tanks can go for a month between water changes, some need water changed every other day. The answer to your primary question, normaly, is "No".

The first few weeks of a new tank's maintenance is tricky though. My method of cycling is letting a new tank run with no fish for 2-3 weeks, then testing its parameters. If everything is ok, then add one or two hardy fish and continue to test parameters, as often as possible. Do 25% water changes if ammonia or nitrite increase by more than .5 a point over 24hrs. I do not endorse any cycling agents or ammonia ridding compounds. The tank needs ammonia to cycle, but it needs to be kept at levels the fish can tolorate. Same with nitrite. When nitrite levels reach zero, you can settle into a maintenance routine.