Dirt Primer

noahm

Falun Dafa Hao!
Reaction score
After a look at thread Here, I thought it might be nice to have a discussion about just dirt since dirted tanks have such a mix of understanding and experiences.

I am not a soil scientist, but I have taken Soil Science and could play one on TV. My first round of undergrad was Horticulture Science at Oregon State University. I was also a grower/propagator at a wholesale ornamental plant nursery for a few years making plants. Now I am an engineer, but still have personal affinity for ecology and natural processes.

Anyhow, if a real soil scientist wants to take over the conversation, feel free, but my effort here is to share a layman's understanding of soil and let the end user determine how it might apply to this hobby. I will try and add in a few bits that do pertain when applicable though.

Soil is generally a mix of some or all of four main components: clay, sand, silt, and organic matter.

Clay:
Clay is made of very small and dense mineral particles that can hold tons of nutrients. The surface area per volume is many many times that of sand etc. You would want some of this in most soil because it is a permanent nutrient sink. Various chemical adhere and break away from the surface as they are used by the plants or dissolved in the water column. Too much though and the soil becomes dense, compacted and less oxygen is available (even aquatic plants need oxygen in the root zone). Some mineral that are highly desirable are found in clay. Soil that is reddish will usually have iron-based clay in it. Plants need iron, but it is not always readily available even in high iron soil until further processing. Clay is good -- in the right proportion.

Sand: