Custom Aquarium controller - ‘ Malawi-Pi’

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Jamesthecat

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi guys

Now I’m at a point when my new 5ft is setup and stable, I want to start building the bits I couldn’t afford to buy a few months ago.

The first one is my fancy Aquarium Controller. I’ve always love GHL Profilux’s and yearned for one for a very long time. If I had a marine tank then I would be able to justify the cost based on the functionality it brings. Using it on my Cichlid tank however just wouldn’t make use of all the modules – realistically Ill be using the heater controller, pH monitor and a power bar for scheduling of power heads etc.

So during my nightly internet browsing I came across a lot of people building controllers based on a Raspberry Pi – (Reef Pi). It looks cool but I’m not a fan of the dashboard they use (I’m a reporting analyst so it would niggle me).

After some research I worked out that I could cobble something together that gives me the functions I need, looks a lot cooler than Reef Pi and doesn’t cost the earth. As and when I need to add modules like dosing then I can do.

Thus the ’Malawi-Pi’ was born....

BA33E66A-4B08-4DE8-89BA-444F8619A1D9.png

The whole thing will be mounted inside my cabinet with a tablet on the door showing a live dashboard of the parameters. The Raspberry Pi will be controlling:
pH
Temperature
LED’s
Powerheads

So this thread will follow my exploits building and implementing it…

The shopping list :

Raspberry Pi 4 kit
Aluminium case for the R Pi
DS18B20 Digital Temp Probe
Atlas Scientific pH kit
Energenie 4 Gang RF Extension

Influx Data DB Server
x2 new powerheads
(All in around £200)

So the bits have been ordered today on Amazon!!!! and ill update with some build pics over the next few days
Below are a couple of images so you get the idea of what itll look like and ill replace them with the real thing as I go.