Curry Recipes/favourites

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

dylema

Fishaholic
Reaction score
So yes any recipes you would like to share. I love more Indian style curries but I cook more Thai curries than anything. If you don't have a recipe just tell us what your favourite is.

I think my favourite is "Phad Pet" which loosely means something spicy in Thai and can really be anything but my Thai chef friend makes it with red curry paste, chicken, some coconut cream, snake beans, kaffir lime leaf, and Thai basil. I can't cook it as well but I am still learning.

I wouldnt go as far to say curry is Englands national dish!!! Roast beef is probably what we are more famous for.

As far as curries go i preffer mine on the more mild side, i like to be able to appreciate the flavours of the ingredients without having my tounge scorched, i usually go for a lamb Rogan gosh which is a tomato based curry sauce spiced with cumin, coriander and paprika, there are many variations but the basics are the same.

That sounds like a Thai green curry. Thai currys tend to be fairly simple dishes with a sauce made from coconut milk and whichever colour curry paste you fancy on the day, Thai curry paste comes in green, red and yellow with green being the hottest and yellow being the mildest and are basicly pounded chilies of that colour, fish sauce (nam pla), ginger, shallots and garlic, unless you can get hold of authentic Thai ingredients like galangal and kaffir lime leaves. Once you have your sauce just add whichever meat fish or vegetables you want.

unless you can get hold of authentic Thai ingredients like galangal and kaffir lime leaves

Luckily for me I have a kaffir lime tree and galangal is usually available in the market ( we have a great market in the city with loads of different foods from just about any nationality).

but the color was almost bright neon green