Could this be new tank syndrome?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Ursula

Reaction score
I am relatively new to the hobby, 8 months. I have recently had to move my tank to another house whilst I had building work done, this went without a hitch. When I brought the tank home I decided to give it a revamp, a clean and New substrate, because of massive alge buildup. New water was added, treated for clorine and I also added more bacteria. This was 2 weeks ago, all original fish are fine, but I added a new black neon 2 days ago and found it dead this morning, could this be a form of new tank syndrome? Should I wait a few days more before adding anything new?

It's more likely to be losing a fish to the stress of moving it, or to a problem from the store. It isn't uncommon to lose fish when you have recently bought them, in what we all wish could be the quarantine period.
They been scooped on the farm, shipped in a bag, put in a wholesaler's tank, shipped to the store... it's a high stress process often involving days in less than ideal conditions.

Thanks GaryE, I'm still at that stage where if I lose something it's got to be something iv done wrong. I may still give it a week or so before adding anything new.

Adding individual shoalers if you don't already have a group is a stress for them. One black neon is like an amputated limb - they live as groups of 6, 10, 600....

If you aren't far from the store, go there a few times before you buy. Take a long look at the fish every time and see if there are any problems. Sometimes, you can use the store as a quarantine.

It looks like it was not an issue with the new fish. Since my last message I have now lost one more black neon and 2 Rasboras. What am I doing wrong?

What are the test results for ammonia and nitrite?
Are you using any other additives apart from the dechlorinator and bacteria?
How much water are you changing and how often?