Corydoras Keep Dying, Most Times for Unknown Cause

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Bluejay72

Reaction score
I am new to the hobby of keeping freshwater fish. I bought a 20 gallon aquarium in February, cycled it and stocked it with live plants, and then got my first fish. I started with 5 emerald cories. I got a 6th cory that was supposed to be an emerald according to the local pet store, but turned out to be a brochis catfish (much longer snout and slightly different coloring than the emerald cories).

The brochis catfish died with fin rot, I’m guessing related to the betta I put in the aquarium who is a nipper. I removed the betta and put him in his own aquarium before the catfish died, but I didn’t notice the fin rot until it was too late.

I then had 2 cories die over the course of a few weeks. The only warning I had was that they turned more pale and didn’t participate in feeding the night before they died. No fin rot, no white spots, no damaged barbels, nothing.

After things were stable for 1-2 months, I got 6 new cories and put them into a quarantine tank. I ended up with 3 cories dying within 1-2 days. I unfortunately didn’t have enough hiding places initially and there was a dead cory in the tank at the pet store, in hindsight I should have avoided getting fish from that tank.

Of the 3 that survived, 2 are still alive. The albino died after a slower period of reduced color and reduced participation in feeding (it took 1 week). Another 2 of the original cories died. 1 was fast like the earlier cories I mentioned and the other was over the course of 2 weeks. Again, no physical changes or signs besides reduced color and reduced participation in feeding.

Currently, I have 3 cories that I would really like to keep alive. I am so sad and disappointed that I keep losing cories even though I have plenty of hiding places, plants, an air bubbler, good water parameters, and do weekly water changes.

PH is ~7