cory eggs

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

corylover5

Fish Herder
Reaction score
This morning my Albino cories spawned and I have collected 33 eggs so far. I have never tried to raise cory fry before so I'm not too sure about what to do. I gently placed the 33 eggs on a shell which is now in a small container of tank water. Any tips on how to hatch the eggs and raise the fry is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Pop in a couple drops of methylene blue or an alder cone, add an airstone. This prevents fungus on the eggs. Some still happens, but it's reduced.

Will take 3-5 days to hatch.

After they hatch, they wont need to be fed for the first 3 days. After that, foods like fry starters (Hikari First Bites, etc) or microworm or such can be offered. I use Hikari First Bites and so far so good. I dip the tip of a toothpick into water and then into the food, then dip back into the water so it sinks.

When they hatch, change water daily.

A tip my local aquarium club recommended was to keep the babies in small cups inside the larger container at first. Makes it easier for them to find food. Keep some sort of shelter in them (java moss, indian almond leaves, etc). Perforate the cups with very small holes. Airstone in the outer tank. Move them only when hatched, leave the eggs where they are for now. Remove any that fungus over.

At 7 days old you can add a little bit of sand, to help prevent damage to their growing barbels, as there is beneficial bacteria in the sand for them. Bare bottom has had some negative affect on their barbels apparently.

I like the cup method also, because i can siphon out water from the tank without sucking up fry! Makes water changes wayyyy easier.

Once a bit larger, you can add a cycled sponge filter in place of the airstone if you wish.