Complete Beginner in a Fishy World

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Tank Sinatra

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
So here goes nothing.

I am a total beginner when it comes to keeping fish. The closest I have been to an aquarium is at Bournemouth Oceanarium.

So here are my plans (I think), they change daily. So hopefully writing them down and keeping a journal will help me to commit!

The tank I have bought is a Fluval Roma 240 with the cabinet and all things included. Why? Because it's German. They seem to make things really well. The tank is being delivered tomorrow.

I must've looked at hundreds of photos of other peoples fish tanks to try and decided on what kind of tank I'd like to keep. I have decided on a planted aquarium. So along with the tank that'd being delivered, I also have 20 or so live plants being delivered at the same time.

I have settled on a black background and black substrate as I think this'll help the colours of the plants and fish stand out nicely.

I do understand that I need to cycle the tank before putting any fish or other critters in there. Every website I read, prefers a 'fish less' cycle. So this is what I'll be doing.

I'll do my best to keep this journal up to date, for my benefit and hopefully others. So I guess I'll come back tomorrow with a photo of the tank once it's set up.

That's going to be a pretty nice set up.

Are you going to be using any type of rocks?
What are you thinking of stocking it with?

That's going to be a pretty nice set up.

Are you going to be using any type of rocks?
What are you thinking of stocking it with?
Let's hope so.

No, I' m not using any rock. I'm going for a heavily planted set up with a few large bits of driftwood.