Co2 System On A Budget

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

james_fish

Chuck, Leader Of Ze People.
Reaction score
Hi, I'm after a complete CO2 system for my 55 gallon tank. Now i've never used a CO2 system before. I've always used liquid carbon when attempting a planted setup.

I want to get something for no more than £120, is that being to tight with the cash? I want one that will have a solenoid, and that does not need re-filling every third week. (not doing a DIY)

So I'm open to any information on brands/models. And any other general information regarding CO2 systems.
I don't plan on keeping any particular difficult species of plants. I just want to actually have a good attempt at making a nice planted tank.

Regards, James.

you'll get a set up for about £100...

FE will cost you about £15 from your local fire people (on a 55g it should last you about 6 months ish)
Tubing a few quid
Reg and solenoid from ebay for £60 ish
bubble counter a few quid
Diffuser about £10
NRV's a few quid

jobs a good un!

have a look here for the cheaper bits.

http://www.tankscape.co.uk/

Thanks Ian!

Is it not too much messing around doing one with a FE rather than buying a kit from JBL or Fluval for example?
I'm not sure I like the idea of having a fire extinguisher in my bedroom, is it not dangerous?

James.

So long as you attach them properly they're perfectly safe. To be honest knocking over any cylinder isn't all that safe, which is why FE's are attached to the wall.

Cheers Rob, there's still something telling me to get a built branded system as opposed to an FE system

James.

FE's are quite safe, when done properly...but it's up to you mate.