Cloudy water and Fry

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Redbled

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
First, I've had my tank for nearly 10 years now, but just the last week, the water has turned cloudy. About 2 months ago I switched from carbon to just filter floss for my filters. A month ago I started to heat the water with a heater for the first time to see if it improves the conditions. Had never had a problem before really. So the only other different thing I've done lately is to feed my plecos in the tank algae wafers. Any ideas why the water could be cloudy. This hasn't happened since I was a beginner...

Second question. Will plecos eat baby Jack Dempsey fry. I've seperated the parents and fry from the other two fish in the tank, but have a large and small pleco with the Dempsey's. So far, all looks fine after the first week. Fry are still in their yokes. This is a seperate 55 gallon tank from the cloudy one btw.

Thanks

Hi Redbled,

Changeing the balance of the tank could have caused an algae bloom - what sort of colour is the cloudy water? removing the carbon and the heater. - does this mean the tank is now warmer than before? - could contribute to algae growth..

From what I have heard it is not recomended to continuously use carbon as it can strip essentials out of the water and as I'm sure you are aware needs to be replaced every 4-6 weeks as it will leach what its removed back into the water....

Stints of 4-6 weeks in and 4-6 out or some only recomend its use for the removal of meds after a treatment.... :/

Have any other tank parameters changed? do you test for nitrAte and maybe phosphate?

If you've had the carbon out for a couple of months try it again to see if it clears up....

If plecos can get to eggs then chances are that they'll get eaten - depending on how good the JD's are at defending them