Chocolate Gourmai Questions

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Hilde

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
I got two male Chocolate Gourmai at an auction. I would like to know from others, whom have had them, what companions they have them, and how to breed them.

I got two male Chocolate Gourmai at an auction.
and how to breed them.
I am no expert, However I think you will need some females. How big is the tank, Have you got many live plants, What sort of filtration do you have, Is the tank cycled? If you could provide as much information as you can please. Then we can give you suggestions on tank mates.

I have 1 Pearl Gourami and they are nice fish.

I have twice maintained Chocolate Gourami, the first back in the late 1980's when I lost them to Velvet, and the second time a few years ago when they spawned several times and I managed to raise some fry.  Sadly the whole group was wiped out with a pathogen, but this leads me into some advice starting with disease.

This fish is very sensitive to water conditions, and highly susceptible to disease.  Water must be very soft (hardness below 5 dGH) and acidic (pH 4 to 6.5 but preferably below 6.0), and warm with the temperature 26-31C/79-88F. In hard or basic water the fish will be stressed; it is very prone to skin parasites in unsuitable water parameters or conditions.  Regular partial water changes maintaining water quality stability are essential. Fluctuations in water parameters or quality often lead to skin parasites, bacteria, and fungus.

These conditions immediately limit tankmates, as many cannot tolerate such warm water, but the second time I kept the temperature around 80F and with this the quieter rasbora (Trigonstigma hengeli, T. espei) work, and I also had a group of pygmy sparkling gourami, and they too spawned regularly.  This was a 70g tank, and I would stay with the Chocolate Gourami and perhaps some rasbora in smaller tanks.