Check Out My New Betta Tank and Cycling Opinion

Deanasue

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Global Moderator
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
8,360
Reaction score
4,967
Location
USA
I had ordered this for my betta, Tai but sadly, he didn’t get to see it. It came in today so I decided to set it up and get it cycled. It looks a little lonely without a fish but the right one will come along. I’ve wanted a black crowntail for a long time so maybe I’ll find one. I don’t usually go for red gravel but with a black betta, it should be cool. Eventually, a smaller cave and a larger plant in back. Baby steps. I don’t want anything that resembles Tai. He was one of a kind. :)
E861DA3C-1EC8-4A32-9E10-457CB0B7E619.jpeg
833C8F66-FB68-41BE-8C6B-8DB6B59B5375.jpeg
 
Last edited:
OP
Deanasue

Deanasue

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Global Moderator
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
8,360
Reaction score
4,967
Location
USA
Question... I’m cycling with seeded media. This means tank will probably be cycled in a couple if days. Once completed, would you use ammonia or fish food to feed it until I get a fish? I usually just use a little fish food but it could be a week or so before I add a beta this time. I don’t want it to get to grimey. Suggestions?
 
Last edited:

AbbeysDad

Fish Herder
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,574
Reaction score
900
Location
Central New York, USA
Why not add a fish from one of your other tanks as a temporary resident and feed normally?
Do you really have that tank right nect to a modem/router?
 
OP
Deanasue

Deanasue

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Global Moderator
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
8,360
Reaction score
4,967
Location
USA
Why not add a fish from one of your other tanks as a temporary resident and feed normally?
Do you really have that tank right nect to a modem/router?
I do. My Hubble already scolded me for it. :( The modem is on a plastic stand to protect it from water. We’ll have to see how the tank affects the modem reception. So far, so good.
 
Last edited:

seangee

Fish Aficionado
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
4,207
Reaction score
3,285
Location
Berks
I do. My Hubble already scolded me for it. :( The modem is on a plastic stand to protect it from water. We’ll have to see how the tank affects the modem reception. So far, so good.
This might be a good excuse to get another tank and buy 2 fish from the same breeder / spawning. All in the name of science. Don't believe I have ever seen any research into the affects of long term exposure to RF radiation on fish :fish:
 
OP
Deanasue

Deanasue

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Global Moderator
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
8,360
Reaction score
4,967
Location
USA
This might be a good excuse to get another tank and buy 2 fish from the same breeder / spawning. All in the name of science. Don't believe I have ever seen any research into the affects of long term exposure to RF radiation on fish :fish:
Lol! I think it’s more the affect on the modem, not the fish. The tank by The microwave probably has more of a risk. Running out of room!
 

AbbeysDad

Fish Herder
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,574
Reaction score
900
Location
Central New York, USA
Lol! I think it’s more the affect on the modem, not the fish. The tank by The microwave probably has more of a risk. Running out of room!
Yeah, I was thinking more of a splash during a water change...zzzzzzz (What happened to Deanasue....she hasn't been on the forum recently?)
:dunno:
 
OP
Deanasue

Deanasue

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Global Moderator
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
8,360
Reaction score
4,967
Location
USA
If you only knew the things I’ve done. Always fishing one air pump out of a puddle of water still plugged in. Lol! :hyper:
 

Retired Viking

Fish Connoisseur
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
5,969
Reaction score
6,509
Location
north woods
I use surge protected power strips, I also have several GFI outlets in the house. Always turn off the power to the tank before doing anything with it. I also have an AT&T router :)
 
OP
Deanasue

Deanasue

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Global Moderator
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
8,360
Reaction score
4,967
Location
USA
As with all TF Hobbyists, really should invest if GFI outlets, even if they're plug-ins. "The life you save could be your own."
Fortunately for me, my home came with them.
 
OP
Deanasue

Deanasue

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Global Moderator
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
8,360
Reaction score
4,967
Location
USA
Most of mine are plugged into the kitchen outlets. However, my house is relatively new and our city codes are very tough. We have ground fault plugs and breakers. Each room is also required to have at least 6 outlets. I do use surge protectors too in my den.
 
Last edited:

trending

Top