Breeding The Panda Corydora

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

l_l_l

Fish Addict
Reaction score
Reading a few topics online made me want to give a go at breeding Panda Cories.
Apparently they are easy to breed, but I have no other experience than my T. Ocellicauda and my Endlers.

They currently live in a 20 gallon long tank, with a bit of plants (will add more) and a group of 10 Mosquito rasbora and a L134 leopard frog pleco.

I have not tried anything nor fed them anything special.
Yesterday I started feeding them bloodworms, and will do so for three consecutive days.
This weekend I will do a water change with cooler water and look for breeding activities.

Any tips on breeding these would be greatly appreciated.
It is a show tank so I'm not really found of dropping a spawning mop, but if you guys tell me it's going to make things MUCH EASIER, I might just do it.

Cheers!

Pandas do seem easier to spawn.  They are being commercially raised, not wild caught, and have been for a decade or so I believe, which is not the norm with cory species.  Of the more than 150 species, I don't think there are more than four or five being commercially spawned.

I have a group of five, and I know they are spawning because just two weeks ago I recovered a panda cory fry when I was last cleaning the canister on this tank, which is my largest (5-foot, 115g).  I just took a couple photos of the fellow, he is about twice the size now, and loves chomping into shrimp pellets.  The leaves are important in fry tanks for the infusoria, and I see him grazing the dried oak leaves regularly so presumably this is providing good nourishment.

First thing is, how many you have, and are there male and female.  I'll leave that for you to deal with.