Bloated Cory, help needed

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

jkomuda

Reaction score
Hey, I am new to fish keeping.

One of my Corydoras got bloated lately.
I thought it was about to lay eggs, then I read about different health conditions incl. constipation, bloat, and dropsy which may be the case here.
Also noticed that Cory's color got lighter as well (FYI two other Corydoras and the rest of the aquarium are just fine).

Let me attach photos, how does it look to you?
I moved the sick Cory from a community aquarium to a hospital tank.
Currently treating with Magna Epsom Salt, that should help somehow, yet hard to say for now.
Can you advise/help regarding its potential conditions and treatment?

Many thanks!

Attachments

• PXL_20220803_043000445.jpg
    PXL_20220803_043000445.jpg
    149.8 KB · Views: 72
  • PXL_20220803_043131068.jpg
    PXL_20220803_043131068.jpg
    133.8 KB · Views: 61
  • PXL_20220803_040031797.jpg
    PXL_20220803_040031797.jpg
    127.4 KB · Views: 78
Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Is the swollen part the silvery round bit just below the neck?
How long did it take to swell up?
Is the fish eating normally?
What does its poop look like?
How long have you had the fish for?

I agree it's not looking just gravid, but I haven't had this issue before, don't feed it for a couple of days and see if swelling goes down, it may have a blockage/ constipation that will pass. If it is the only one from shoal I would be surprised if worms have got that bad without infecting the others, but has it been acting strange, or rubbing it's sides against the substrate/floor? This could be a sign of some sort of parasite.
Does it spend most of the time at the bottom of tank?

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Is the swollen part the silvery round bit just below the neck?
How long did it take to swell up?
Is the fish eating normally?
What does its poop look like?
How long have you had the fish for?
Hi Colin, thanks!