Beginner Stocking

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

emma580

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
hi there, im a newbie and I've just finished cycling a Rekord 700 (70 litres) which took a long time because I was confused at first and had to start again!
Basically I just want a few groups of small easy to care for fish since I'm new to the hobby. I went and got 5 neon tetras from my LFS and have reserved another 3 of the ones they had that weren't ready to sell yet. Was just wondering what else you would suggest and how many of them? I love love love the Harlequin Rasboras I saw when I got the neons btw! 

emma580 said:
hi there, im a newbie and I've just finished cycling a Rekord 700 (70 litres) which took a long time because I was confused at first and had to start again!
Basically I just want a few groups of small easy to care for fish since I'm new to the hobby. I went and got 5 neon tetras from my LFS and have reserved another 3 of the ones they had that weren't ready to sell yet. Was just wondering what else you would suggest and how many of them? I love love love the Harlequin Rasboras I saw when I got the neons btw! 
Thanks
smile.png

Neons need a more established tank. They are a bit hard to take care of in an unestablished tank, established as in the bioload capacity is stable, the water flow, the etemp, the nitrates, and other factors, If I were you I would have gotten the harlequin rasboras. They do not need an established tank. they only need a cycled tank

I would like to mention Ember Tetra here, especially given your tank is smaller than 100L.

Terry.

PS- stick with this fish supplier, always refreshing to see shops using some sort of quarantine.
good.gif

I have looked at ember tetras and I do like the look of them just wasnt sure about them as i dont know anything about them!