Bad Conditions For A Dwarf Gourami

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

DanielKeepsFish

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
I know i know, i shouldn't have bought test strips...

Today i got a master liquid test kit because i had been reading about water testing and found out that test strips are notoriously inaccurate. Worried for my fish, i went to the store and by a freshwater liquid test kit. I check my ammonia: 0
I check my nitrites: 0 I go to check my water hardness and pH, and it is very alkaline and very hard. My water is almost at 200 for hardness and has a pH of 7.8! I have a dwarf gourami that has been acting strange lately (short bursts of super fast darting around and only swimming back and fourth in the back of the tank) So i was wondering if this could be because of the bad water. (going to buy some peat to hopefully lower the pH a bit) Also, i kind of ruled out dwarf gourami disease because it doesn't have any other symptoms.  
My red tail shark seems unaffected.

Please Help! 

How long have you had this fish and when did you set up the tank? Did you cycle the tank? What is the temperature of the water, what is the Nitrate level at and what is your water changing routine? pH of 7.8 is fine you don't need to alter it, your fish will adjust to it. Always acclimate new fish carefully. Try to find out at what pH your LFS keeps their tanks. Possibly they are on the same water source as you and have the same pH.

i dont know if i was dong the tests wrong or something like that, but this morning i tested the water and it has dropped down to about 6.9. My fish aren't dead or stressed so my guess is that i was doing the test wrong.

Thank you for the help though. I probably should have checked how i was testing the water instead of wasting your time.