Aqua Rays Led Strips

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Crazy fishes

Fish Addict
Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone has tried these new-ish aqua ray strips yet on a reef setup? If so what are they like to use, how much light do you get for your money and any other relevant information will be greatfully received.

Regards

I have a tank running with only these leds.
my first tank though so i have no experience with other lights. MY thoughts are that they are expensive for what they are. But take into account the 5 years warrenty and no bulb changes. I have a couple of softies under them and they seem to love it.
My lfs now has these on their coral tanks and compared to their halides i would say they are brighter. They have 8 strips where they had a 250w halide. I dont have any figures to back that up just looks brighter to me. They switched over because of the rising energy prices and the heat prduced by the MH's. But 8 strips is a lot of £££c compared to the DIY haldie they had before
They do give a great shimmer effect aswel.
I would say optimal set up would be smaller halides with LED's. Then you can cut the halide time down a bit and save by using smaller ones aswel.

Could you not diy your own led strip of leds?

Id brought leds of ebay befor and very cheap for 50+ even 100+ of leds???? sureley the leds in aqua rays are the same led as any other led?????

Id brought leds of ebay befor and very cheap for 50+ even 100+ of leds???? sureley the leds in aqua rays are the same led as any other led?????

I think they are different in energy rating. I remember reading somewhere about it but not entirely sure how what and why??

What about SPS has anyone tested Aquarays supporting these corals????

Regards

There a lot of different LEDs some cost pennys some are £100+ per bulb.

there are a few LED builds that i am following on other sites that seem to be coming along so il keepy ou updated