Another Newb With A Fish In An Uncycled Tank

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

fish_food

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm pretty new to fishkeeping, and have found myself with a goldfish (bubble-eye) in an uncycled tank.
He's pretty sick at the moment, and I'm not sure he'll survive, but if he does, I'm wondering what I should do.  His health has constantly been fluctuating, and I think it might have something to do with my uncycled tank, even though I perform regular (1-3 day) 15-20% water changes.

I don't have the option of taking him back to the shop or having a friend with a cycled tank look after him, and cycling the tank with him in it is going to be impossible, since he is hypersensitive to ammonia.
Would it be alright to set up a fishless cycle and transfer him in? 
Meanwhile, how often should I do water changes in the uncycled tank to keep him healthy?

I also have another small pond (repurposed bathtub) with 5 goldfish who seem to be doing fine.  I haven't cycled that either, but I'm wondering if I should?

Thanks for any advice.

fish in cycles are not impossible but they are hard work and they can take a long time. Firstly I'm not a goldfish keeper and my knowledge of goldfish is very limited but from memory they are high waste fish - which means high levels of ammonia and nitrite.

Secondly, have you got a test kit for this tank? If not, arm yourself with one and get one of the liquid dropper test kits as these are accurate. The test strips you can buy in the fish stores are very inaccurate. You'll need to look for a cold water kit ... I'm not sure if API do a cold water kit but we normally recommend the API masterkit - this is for tropical though. Have a look online and see if there is a cold water version.