Ammonia - AMRID

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

kevore

Reaction score
Hi all, Newbie here. I just started a 10 gallon aquarium with an AquaClear mini filter that I loaded with a sponge filter, a carbon filter and an ammonia remover filter (amrid). I set the tank up 3 nights ago and bought 5 fish (2 mollies, a platy, a rasbora and a danio) tonight for the tank as the worker at Petco said that should be okay to start with. Earlier this evening, my fish looked to be suffering (weird bobbing behavior or staying near the surface of the water) so in trying to find some answers, I went online and discovered this board. I now realize that I may have overloaded the tank which resulted in too much ammonia. So after reading past posts I realized that I needed to do a water change (did it, and the fish look to be happier for it), but now I'm wondering why the AMRID filter didn't do it's job of clearing out the excess ammonia.

And how long am I supposed to leave it in the filter basket? If it does have effectiveness, does it lose it after awhile? Am I supposed to replace it every month as instructed on the box? Was it a mistake to use it at all and should (can) I remove it now to get on with the cycling process??

Anyone with any experience with this product please help!

Thanks in advance,
Karen

Hi Karen

Setting up three nights ago was possibly too soon to add fish !! oops :crazy:

It should take a bit longer than that as you need to get your filter functioning properly with the right ammount of healthy bacteria that will be able to convert any ammonia present into nitite (slightly less toxic) and then bacteria to feed on the nitrite and convert it into nitrate (which in controlled concentrations is ok for fishes)

The products in your filter are ok I suppose but still they need time to establish before they can accept the additional loading of fish waste.