Algae Shrimp.

Algae, like all plants, will need some thing to eat i.e. nutrients.

Light is only a trigger as this is thier primary requirement.

So to this end:
What substrate have you got?
What & how often & more importantly how much food do you feed your fish?
What is your maintenance schedule? Do you gravel vac when water changing?
Do you think you live in a 'hard water' area?

Fish food and fish waste (poo & pee) are great nutrient sources for any kind of plant, espcially if allowed to sit in a dirty substrate where it breaks down and nutrients (the source of which is the fish food) are then released into the water column over time.

Andy

its a gravel substrate and i vaccume the gravel once a week. i feed them blood worms as a treat 2 times a week and flakes 3 times a day, there called aquarian flake food. i also use pellets for my clown and corys. im not sure about the water hardness.

it says on the box of fish food to feed 3 times a day, but im kinda new to algae problems so all help and advise welcome! and critisism!

Honestly, one small pinch per day is more than enough. (Fish are greedy & will always appear hungry).

Manufacterers of the food want you to over-feed... you'll buy 3x more than you need - at the expense of your bio system of course! :shifty:

Andy

ahhh, i never thought of that! but i will start to feed them once a day. what about treats, how often would i give them blood worms or brine shrimp?

Feeding depends on the type of fish and the age of the fish. As babies and juvis, they should be fed several meals a day as they are in the rapid growth/development phase of their lives. As they mature, then feeding 1-2 times a day is fine.

For goldfish babies/juvi's, it's recommended to feed a total of 2% of their body weight each day so this would be split into 3-6 meals. For adults, it drops down to 1% of their body weight and could be split between 1-2 meals.