Algae Bloom Problem

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

akared

Reaction score
Hi Ya'll,

Yep, I'm a newbie. We bought my son a tank for his room for last Christmas. It's a 12 gal Eclipse. Started it up in Feb and learned all about new tank syndrome. Yes, I'm the one doing all the care for the tank.

Everything began going pretty smooth by April...then this summer, the water started getting cloudy and then green. And I can't seem to get it under control.

The tank is not by any window, or heater, but I'm in Alaska and the summer months are light all night. So there is light that comes in the room, but not direct light, as I have a huge Lilac in front of most of the window.

Nitrate at 20, ppm?
Nitrite at 0
Ammonia at .20
Alkalinity at 80
pH at 6.9
Water temp at 73-74

I have...
1 Yellow Gauromi
3 Rummie nose
4 cherry barbs

I was told that I may be feeding the fish too much. When I started off I was told twice a day, what they can eat in 10 min. I've cut back since this algae bloom to just a pinch, what they can eat in 3 min, twice a day.

I cut down time with the light on to about 5 hours a day.

I vacuum once a month with a 2 gal water change. I also change out 1 gal per week.

But with this algae bloom, I've changed it a bit to try and get it under control. The fish store told me to use No More Algae by Jungle Labs. I've used it three times so far and followed the directions Jungle Lab and the fish store gave me.

Cleaned all the algae off everything. Changed out 2 gallons of water. Took out Carbon filter. Added 1 tsp plus 2-3 drops. Waited 7 days and added back in the Carbon filter. I was told I could repeat if needed. Well it's been needed.

The water seems to get a lil better, and then back to really green water. Today it seemed really green. So today I did a 3 gal water change, the tank was up for it's monthly vacuum and added the No More Algae.

Any ideas....I'm REALLY frustrated!!!