Albino African Claw Frog Rescue

jiffy

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
I was at my friends house yesterday, and noticed he had an African Claw Frog. He doesnt really look after it anymore, but still feeds it. The tank is very neglected. Although I am very new to seriously keeping fish (not just goldfish when I was younger), I want to clean up things for the frog.

IMO, the whole tank needs to be emptied, scrubbed, and recycled. But, there is nowhere to put the frog while it recycles. The tank is only about half full of water to begin with and is very dirty, so water changed might help, but its going to throw the levels way off I think, although, if he is living in this I think he might be ok through that.

Any ideas about what I can do to?

Hi jiffy :)

Fortunately for them, African Clawed Frogs are great at surviving in bad conditions. :eek: That doesn't mean that they should live in them, though.

You could probably just remove the frog, clean the tank and replace the frog. Just be sure to dechlorinate the water. I wouldn't do this with a fish, of course, but these guys are tough! :thumbs:

If you click on the link in my signature, it will take you to a thread with lots of information and links about both African Clawed Frogs and the little African Clawed Frogs. I think you will enjoy reading about them.

I keep my ACF in one of the small acrylic pet carriers in between tank scrubbings. ACF's are pretty dirty,they yuck up the water fast. He does just fine in the little pet carrier until the tank is ready again. He just got his 'dirty hands' and he's taken it upon himself to sing to me every night from 4 am to 6 am. :lol:

Inchworm, thanks for the tips and link. Yea he seems liek a tough critter. I actually think I am going to take him and the tank to my house and keep it here. He is in a 10 gallon tank. I want to keep it coldwater, but put something else in there with him. Apparently he ate everything that was in there with him before cuz they were all small.