55 Gallon Stocking Help

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

TetraMan2007

Reaction score
I have a 55 gallon aquarium that is unused and in my basement. Right now I am the owner of a 10 gallon with six neon Tetras. My father said that I can upgrade to the 55 gallon around my birthday (around August). I was thinking about doing biotope tank replicating the Amazon river. I want fish that are hardy because I am still relatively new in the fish keeping hobby. I am not looking for an extremely accurate biotope. As long as the fish are from northern South America it is ok for me ;). I am thinking about getting angelfish because they are peaceful and relatively easy to care for from what Iā€™ve been reading. I was wondering if there are any good community Tank mates for angels. Or if you think there are any other cichlids I should have instead of Angels. I have a very soft water and a PH around a neutral coming from my tap. I am thinking about aquascaping it but am not sure because I donā€™t know what fish to get. Please help me decide on my fish. Thanks