24 days into fishless cycle. NOTHING but ammonia!

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Rockfish35

Reaction score
hey all

far from a newbie here

but new to the forum :yahoo:

I've been having a frustrating issue with my newly set up aquarium and with 20+ years in the hobby i'm looking to bend someone else's ear on here to get some input

first a bit of info about the tank:

72 gallon bow from (reef ready)

wet/dry filtration

tunze ATO

and a med/lg media reactor with nothing but fresh activated carbon in it running

when i first set up the tank(got it used) i cleaned everything well with hot tap water

cleaned and water tested the aquarium to make sure it didn't explode (it didn't lol)

set everything up, got everything running, made sure their were no leaks of any kind

waited a full 24 hours for the tank to run in a bit

added ace hardware 10% ammonia (scentless of course)

i get a constant 3-4 PPM reading without adding any additional ammonia

PH 7.8 ( a little high but for cycling it's fine right now)

NO nitrite
NO nitrate

HAVE NOT CLEANED, TOUCHED, OR PERFORMED ANY TYPE OF WATER CHANGE!

AND NO CHANGE in anything for the past 24 days now

i was def thinking i would be seeing some nitrite conversion by now

borrowed a hand full of bio balls from my GF's 75 and used an entire LG bottle of TSS

and this is still where we sit

should i just wait it out or am i missing something?

i've been doing this for a long time and have never encountered such a slow or should i even say stalled process

ANY advice would be amazing and thank you for listening to me rant! lol

Attachments

• 51003319_10215820153331286_5701553228420743168_n.jpg
    51003319_10215820153331286_5701553228420743168_n.jpg
    58.8 KB · Views: 200
  • 51434281_10215820153691295_3404208151304601600_n.jpg
    51434281_10215820153691295_3404208151304601600_n.jpg
    45.9 KB · Views: 150
Last edited:
Hmmm... this is an interesting one.