Is Adding More Fish Ok Yet?

merlecollins

Reaction score
Hi all,

I got my first tank in October last year and have been cycling it without fish until three weeks ago :hyper: when I finally was confident that my levels were OK to add fish :good:

So off I trotted to my local pet shop for some advice :rolleyes: The owner was great and sold me 10 small fish in total, advising me not to dive in and buy larger fish such as the Black Mollies he had :good:

I got 3 Zebra Danios, 3 Tiger Fish (not sure of their exact name) and 4 tiny fish that seem transparent and have a golden stripe/backbone through the middle.....Many apologies for my ignorance but as I've said I'm new to this :rolleyes:

Anyway, all of the fish have survived and in fact flourished in their new environment with the Danio's somewhat larger than 3 weeks ago :hyper:

Do you think I would I now be able to add some larger fish ? :blink: I have a Tetra Aquaart 60l tank set-up.

Your tank is about 15 gallons which means you can hold around 15 inches of fish (ie 15 inch long fish) with good filteration and water changes done weekly you could push it to 20 inches.

So if your adding small fish you can add another 4-5 as tiger barbs can grow to around 2 inches.

Good luck with your new tank.

Your tank is about 15 gallons which means you can hold around 15 inches of fish (ie 15 inch long fish) with good filteration and water changes done weekly you could push it to 20 inches.

So if your adding small fish you can add another 4-5 as tiger barbs can grow to around 2 inches.

Good luck with your new tank.

Cheers Helterskelter,

What sort of fish would you think would co-habit OK with what I've got already? :unsure:

Nothing with long fins as tiger barbs love to nip at them.
But it's your choice as their are 100's of things to chose from.

After doing a fishless cycle you are able to add your full stocking straight away without introducing over a period of time.