I Am Killing My Fish & On The Point Of Giving Up!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Baltipal

Reaction score
Hi all.
We've had our Marina Style 60 tank since November, We ran it fishless for two weeks then stocked it with six Platies, five Tetras & a sucker fish. All was well for a week or so then in a over enthusiastic moment we bought six Guppies. The Guppies were all dead by next morning & I accept that 1/ I maybe should have waited alittle longer before trying Guppies out & 2/ The water change the day before probably wasn't such a good idea but I am kind of new to this & I'm on a steep learning curve!
My problem now is that we've lost four of the Platies, two Reds, one Tuxedo Comet & one Micky Mouse. The remaining MM & TC seem OK, the Tetras are chasing around all over the place & we even have four fry in a isolation net in the tank that seem to be growing up nicely. The tank is at a regular twenty six degrees & we do a water change every week. I feed with a pinch of Nutrafin Max fish flakes well ground up every six to eight hours & although we haven't got a water testing kit yet I'd have thought the fry doing so well in the same stuff would have been a good indicator, we even have another one living in the main tank that we spotted after we fished the other four out for isolation.
I'm not overly sentimental but the netting of dead fish has bruised my soul alittle bit & I can't help but look at the ones that are left & instead of enjoying them I keep asking myself which will be next!
I think that the water change is to blame or rather the awkward way we are going about it, we syphon out about ten to twelve litres replacing with treated, mixed warm & cold which we then add to the tank from a bucket, I'm thinking that the water treatment is at the wrong proportion or/and the shock of how we are topping the tank up is too much for them but again the fry survive it just fine!
What do you all think?