Help For A Newb

fishheaded

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hey there everyone, I’m extremely new to SW and I am planning on starting up a 10 gallon, FOWLR (hoping to have 2 clowns, and clean up crew). I know everything as far as LR and sand goes, but I have yet the slightest clue on exactly what equipment I would need to run this tank (powerhead, protein skimmer, etc.). I would gladly appreciate if someone could help me on the equipment I would need.

-Thanks for the help! :blush:

Welcome to the forum!

The equipment i would recommend for a 10 gallon is:

-A RELIABLE 50-100 watt heater

-Powerheads for circulation and aeration
The rule of thumb usually is 20-30x times the volume of the water so 200gph-300gph.

-Live rock
your filtration

-live sand
also your filtration

-Lighting
small power compact with a fan (3-5 watts per gallon should do)

testing kits
Nitrate nitrite ammonia PH
Hydrometer

A protein skimmer is optional. Most do without a protein skimmer on smaller tanks because small water changes are easy to perform.

:hi: indeed. Bobwumba has hit on some great topics there. If you want some reading a little more in depth, check out the stickies at the top of this section. Lots of helpful info there

hey, im planning the same thing, but i may try some easy corals. do you know how many powerheads you are going to use?

Hey thnx guys for the welcoming! Sorry slamster, I am a big time newbie, :sad: and I have no idea how many powerheads I should have for this 10g tank. So if anyone could please help it would be gladly appreciated! :D

Go n get yourself a good book. I would recommend Natural Reef Aquariums by John Tullock.
You could get away with somthing like 2 Maxijet 600erz doing 299gph (would be even better with rotating flow nozzles on each).

Get the book! :good:

Yeah, somewhere between 200-300gph of flow. I'd do it with 2 makijets or minijets as one pump just makes a whirlpool. Two pupms creates some good turbulence ;)