External heaters - what am I missing?

dinolino

Reaction score
Hi folks, first time poster here.
I'm relatively new to the hobby - had a simple 60L community tank for a couple of years and now in the process of upgrading to a 120L with an external filter (Fluval 107). I hate the way heaters look inside tanks, and have been looking at external in-line heaters, e.g. the JBL Protemp e300. It seems like a great solution to me, but I can't find much info about them online, and am now wondering why they're not more popular - what am I missing? Is there a reason everyone seems to use the internal submersible heaters?
Thanks in advance for your knowledge/experience!

Hi welcome to the forum :) You are not alone in hating how heaters and equipment look!

External heaters are often more expensive than internals and also need an extra bit of work to fit them into the external filter pipes. I've also heard about a few models being a bit unreliable in terms of leaks at the seals.

The best way round I've found is to get the Oase Thermo filters either Biomasters or Filtosmarts as they have the heater in the canister filter. Ehiem do a range similar as well. Worth the investment if you want to cut down the equipment in tank. An other option is if you have a black background get the most minimal looking heater possible, I've never quite found a black rectangle but something like that would be great just to blend in - I don't understand why brands feel the need to put colourful logos and switches on things.

There are basically 3 options when it comes to heaters"
1. In or on the tank.
2. In a filter.
3. Inline external.

Now, lets consider what sort of tanks and equipment is mostly used by hobbyists and why.

1. Most folks have one tank and they usually end up with a hang on filter and an in tank heaters.
2. Some folks get hang-ons with the heater inside the filter. Something I consider a poor concept.