Best Coldwater Fish For A Beginner? Help!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

CallyCal

Reaction score
Hello, I am a total newbie and really need some help!

Recently decided to start keeping fish as my daughter is obsessed with them, and I haven't kept fish since childhood (the usual fairground goldfish I'm afraid!).

I went to a local aquarium and was advised to get a 7 litre beginners tank, I liked the look of black moors and I was told 2 would fit here. Luckily I decided to research for myself and now know how terrible that advice was!! I have decided to steer clear of fancy goldfish, and am thinking along the lines of white cloud mountain minnows or danios.

Basically I need some advice on what size tank is most practical for a beginner, how many fish to keep, what types of fish, what types of filter etc. I know I will need to cycle the water, but I dont really know what this means :S

This site has been so helpful and informative in my research so I would REALLY appreciate any advice!

A 10 Gallon tank is usually a good place to start, or the bigger the better (less damage to the fish if you make a mistake) and the larger tanks allow you to have alot more fish.

Read through the beginners resource centre on this website! It helped me alot.

Alot of people on here keep fishless cycle logs. I unfortunately haven't submitted one yet but if you look through other peoples journals, and copy there steps. It makes things easier!

I forgot to say, welcome to the forum :)

Hello! I think is great you are doing fish keeping. Um.. having coldwater fish can be areal challenge( i mean looking for species of coldwaterfish) Stay clear of goldfish as a 1st choice. Dainos wont do quite well because they need alot of room to swim in. Um a betta fish might be alright, if your house is constantly warm. Temp 20-26 degrees celcius. You should research on Bettas before buying one. But i can tell you basic care.