Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Aqua Plus And Nutrafin Cycle

Discussion in 'New to the Hobby Questions and Answers' started by chris1804, Sep 6, 2010.

  1. chris1804

    chris1804 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive set up my tank ive put about 40l of water in
    ive put 10ml of aqua plus
    and 10ml of nutrafin cycle (do i keep adding this for 3 days 10ml and after that 10ml weekly?

    do i have to add any more aqua plus?

    heater and filter is running ive set the heater to 27c is that correct?
     
  2. chris1804

    chris1804 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone?

    anyone?
     
  3. festo

    festo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    w,midlands
    you need to add ammonia
     
  4. chris1804

    chris1804 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0

    ok ill get some ammonia tomorrow, what does it do?


    am right in saying i have to add 10ml of nutrafin cycle for 3 days then 10ml weekly?

    do i need to add any more aqua plus? or is that just for when i do water changes?

    sorry im new to all this, everybody has to learn somewhere i suppose lol
     
  5. chris1804

    chris1804 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    been reading about cycling tanks im confused,


    right ive added aqua plus to the water so thats alright,(how often do i need to do water changes and i take it i need to add this everytime i do a water change,

    add nutrafin cycle for the first 3 days then 10ml every week

    do all this for 6-8 weeks before i add fish?

    how about the ammonia how often do i add that?
     
  6. Inchworm

    Inchworm Li'l Ole Fish Lady

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    19,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Hi chris1804 :)

    I'll move your thread to the Your New Freshwater Tank section. You will need to learn about what the cycling process is and how to test your water as you go along. The members who post in there will give you some articles to read and will walk you through the whole thing, step by step. It is a bit of work and will take some time, but will be well worth the effort in the long run.
     
  7. chris1804

    chris1804 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0

    thanks, anybody tell me a step by step day by day what i need to do. Gonna go and get some ammonia and testing kit today

    how often do i add the ammonia?
     
  8. curlyriff

    curlyriff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Witney (Oxfordshire)
    Don't use cycle it is rubbish. I had to do a 80% water change to get my tank cycle to work with the standard fishless cycle. If you read up on hear about fishless cycling it will tell you but there is a calculator button up top you put in size of tank and want to put around 5ppm for your first lot so around 6g tank requires 1.2ml of ammonia (assuming your ammonia is 9.5%, it will say on bottle).

    Make sure you get a descent test kit becuase it is inportant for the levels to be accurate.

    I won't explain the whole cycle process for you as it has already been fully written up on the forum, I am sure someone will link it or give you directions.

    Kind Regards,

    Adam
     
  9. Tolak

    Tolak Gun Toting Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    15,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    You'll find all sorts of good information here. The cycling topics should give you a real good idea of what the process is.
     
  10. chris1804

    chris1804 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    brought some ammonia from homebase it bubbled up for about 2 seconds so i guess its ok. Brought a test kit from fish shop. will test it later what does ppm mean.
     
  11. curlyriff

    curlyriff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Witney (Oxfordshire)
    It is parts per million, this is what your test kit will measure against.

    As said before you want to be adding 5ppm using the calculattor. Then as it cycles you should be able to see in about 2/3 days that it drops to around 4ppm and in a week that you will have no to very little ammonia in the tank. At the same time your Nitrite shoudl be rising.

    This will later create Nitrate for oyour tank and will help to creat the bacteria required. Onces you have dropped to around 0.0ppm for ammonia or close you should then add around 3-4 ppm of ammonia to continue the cycle until you see a spike in the nitrites & they start dropping to zero.

    It will become apparent you are close to this stage when in 2 hours your ammonia has dropped from3/4ppm to in 12 hours or less. ONly top up the ammonia every 24 hours. In the end your cycle with the test should be reading 0 ammoina, 0 nitritae and over 100 for Ntrate.

    Once this occurs check evry day at the same time for similar results. If this holds steady for a few day swhile you have still been adding 3ppm of ammonia your tank has cycled.

    Then once thi sis done you should performe a water change. if it is over 100ppm in your tank you should do around a 90% water change which will drop it to around 10ppm this will be fine for your fish and anywhere between 5ppm and 20ppm is optimum.

    I believe this is all correct (someone please say if I missed or said incorrectly about something) and if you don't undestand anything please say and I will try to break it down and help with a better explination.

    This is just an overview of how it works and there are more in depth write ups on the subject on this site and to what I believe you have already been given a link too.

    Hope this helps.

    Kind Regards,

    Adam
     
  12. chris1804

    chris1804 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    think i need to get some more testing kit the bloke has only gave me ammonia kit
     
  13. frogmarch1987

    frogmarch1987 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    most of the people on here use and recommend this kit:

    http://aquariumpharm.com/Products/Product.aspx?ProductID=67
     
  14. curlyriff

    curlyriff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Witney (Oxfordshire)
    You ideally want a kit for Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate, PH & High PH incase your water is over 7.6PH which most limit at.

    For instant my tap water is between 7.8 & 8.0PH from the tap.

    Kind Regards,

    Adam
     
  15. waterdrop

    waterdrop Enthusiastic "Re-Beginner"

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC, USA
    Yes, agree, Adam is giving good advice. WD
     

Share This Page