Yet Another Nano Journal

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

James B

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
well im a newbie to all this but im going to do my best here after setting up the tank i went to get the LR today. got there with the parents who instantly fell in love, and i mean couldnt get them away from the tank, with a pair of tomato clowns and a torch coral that they proceeded to tell me i have to buy there and then so twenty minutes later i had them away from the tank on the promise that I would buy them as soon as the tank was habitable :rolleyes:. anyway seeing as its a small tank i got small ish lumps of live rock that had all sorts of snails and a huuuuuge bristle worm shot out of one as soon as it was in the tank :crazy: all seems to be going well i have seen a couple of snails that must have been freebies. I havent done any aquascaping yet as im waiting for the sand to clear but heres some pics anyway.

lights on

CIMG0016.jpg

CIMG0017.jpg

lights off

CIMG0020.jpg

CIMG0019.jpg

dont know if you guys can see it properly but isthis a pest anemone or some sort of coral

CIMG0018.jpg

hope you like any hints and tips welcome

Looking :good: don't worry the dust will settle. Couple of tips from my expierence get Rowaphos in their asap and keep an eye on the phosphate level and if the water doesn't clear try some filter floss in either an internal or external filter whatever you have to hand.

Keep up the good work.

i have a tetratec external filter doing nothing shal i add rowaphos into that?

yes you could don't bother with sponges just run the external with the rowaphos you could add some carbon and polyfilter aswell and use it as extra water movement for the tank i also have Lr rubble in one of my baskets in my fluval

I will start it off tomorrow then not being used for anything else so it might as well be made useful