Would It Be Worth It?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

sputnick

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
So I have an extra 10 gallon aquarium that I'm not using and I'm wondering if it would be worth turning it into a sump on my 45 gallon aquarium. I have some knowledge on how I would have to set it up and what not. I would probably use a marineland maxi-jet 1200 as a pump. I believe the out put in utility mode is around 295gph.
Here are all the good things I can think of from running a sump on my tank;

Better turnover rate/flow
More water volume which allows for more stocking
Getting rid of my ugly heater
(hopefully) better water quality
more biological filtration

Is there anything that I've missed? How about reasons not to put a sump on my tank?
To be honest if I don't turn my 10 gallon into a sump I will probably end up putting a betta in it. Which would mean spending more money and seeing as how I'm going into college soon I should PROBABLY (only due to parental advisors) avoid doing.

In tropical its not worth going sump. You could save yourself money and buy a external heater. Also although you'd have more water you wouldn't be able to stock more as stocking should be based om your display and not both.

Yea, overall not worth it.

I'd say a canister filter would be an overall better option for FW. However, making a sump could be a fun project, plus the fact you can store more media in it..but who am I to be giving out advice, I've never had a sump myself.

Save yourself the frustration and get an external filter, unless your parents are up to taking care of the tank. Youll have to do top offs on the sump and if you dont youll either burn the pump or get an annoying sucking sound (and then burn the pump if you dont top off in time, though the noise usually drives people crazy enough to top off)