will I have trouble growing plants?

vantgE

I know you agree
Reaction score
Just asking if I can grow any plants in my soon to be african cichlid tank,

The substrate is just about 50 kilograms or 110 lbs of playsand mixed with 20 lbs of african cichlid gravel just some specialty stuff with fairly small grains it's supposed to simulate a rift lake enviroment i don't think the sand will be very deep but i could get some more what would be the minimum depth for plants?

Also cichlids are herbivorous so i would need something very hardy or bad tasteing, Iwas thinking Java fern and would prefer something leafier not just a grass sort thing because the plants are to acomadate the syno that i hope to get

acidic hard water don't know if this makes a difference for plants but...

also any tips for keeping plant or anything else i didn't think of i'm fairly new to fish still, and know very little to nothing about plants

Thanks in advance

EDIT-> do i need C02, 40 watt flourescant light

How big of a tank?

To expand a little. I'm not sure what plants would be good in a cichlid tank, because they would obviously have to be "bad tasting". Java fern and java moss are the only that I know of off the top of my head.

Light is important part of a fish tank, you said 40watt, so I'm guess it's a stock 4ft strip light? Would this mean it's on a 55 gallon tank or somewhere near there? If so you'll need more light to get good growth. Although some VERY low light plants will probably grow slowly.

If you have 40watt on a 55gallon it's really not worth worrying about C02 at this point. However once you get a decent amount of light (preferably above 2 watt per gallon) you could set up a DIY C02 injection system (google it).