WHY?????????

Pointy_kitty

i eat buttons
Reaction score
my plants are dying!
i give them food once every two months they are still dying
i have 2 long viney plants with a million tiny circle leaves in my 20gallon
i'm not sure the name of them
what do you need to know to help me fix them?

the light is 15watts
i have a airstone bar (i don't know if that effects the plants)

please help me

Well the airstone bar will increase oxygenization, which will decrease your levels of CO2, therefore giving your plants less nutrients/food. Also, a lot ppl think atleast 1 watt /gallon is the bare limit for most aquatic plants.

Remmeber, Im no expert, you may want to wait for betteranswers :lol: :thumbs:

Pointy_kitty,
It sounds like your plants are dying because your lighting is too low. I'm not sure what size your tank is, but I can almost guarantee that lighting is the problem here. Until you add more light, or go for low light plants I suggest you try hardscaping for now. Even with low light plants, I would still strive for 2WPG.
FYI, increase of oxygen doesn't decrease CO2.

Well the airstone bar will increase oxygenization, which will decrease your levels of CO2
NO NO NO NO

CO2 can never replace O2 or visa versa..
There is 80% more CO2 in the air that( up to 350ppm) O2 and CO2 disolve easier than O2, but you water might only contain 1-3 ppm. an Airstone will increase water movement and might increase O2 and CO2 levels, CO2 levels might climb upto 3-5ppm but in a planted tank 25-35ppm might be needed, but 2 long viney plants in a 20G tank might not be able to consume more that you alreadsy have in you water

It all comes down to light and food..
If there is the right amount of light and food in the tank the plant will grow, might be slow but might grow well, but to increace the growth you'll need to supplement the water with the needed element CO2, Iron, NO3 what ever might be needed.