Why are my bottom plants thriving but not my amazon frogbit?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Blackwater guru

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
So I have been keeping this 145 liter blackwater aquarium for 3 months that features 30 fishes and a variety of plants with pieces of oak driftwood from the local forest along with rocks from the same area.

So far my bottom plants have been thriving and the color of my fish have been showing because of the added tannins from the roiboi tea to create the ideal blackwater enviroment .

The only plants not thriving are my floating amazon frogbit plants which I have struggled to make more of and I only have 9 - 11 of them even though in the beginning I used to have more of them.

This is a video of my aquarium that I uploaded on youtube

Once I get home I will try uploading some close up images of my amazon frogbit plants so that you can see what I am doing wrong.

As for what I have tried so far I have decreased the flow on my pump and I have also tried reducing the water levels a bit but so far I have had no success.

I am also thinking of adding some water lettuce later on to add some variety to the top portion of the tank besides the 6 marbled hatchetfish and the frogbit that I have.

What do you recommend that I try out?

I really like the look of your tank and enjoyed the video.

Let me know when you find out the secret to growing Amazon Frog-bit !!!

My frogbit rots if any tiny bits of flake food get caught on or around the leaves, the fish just don’t find it.

Have you definitely got amazon frogbit. I struggled with plants I bought on ebay and amazon. Finally I got some tropica123 plants grown from tissue culture. It cost me Bit more but was well worth it.

Just my theories but either my original plants were European frogbit or were grown in cold water and could not adapt to tropical temperatures. Now I can't stop it growing and thin it out almost every week.