White Cotton Like Stuff On Mouth

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Julia1904

Reaction score
I just bought a new cichlid two days ago, I noticed today that there's white cotton stuff on his mouth, other than that everything else is fine with him, he does hide alot too. Im new to the cichlid world, what should I do? salt, meds??? I dont want all my fish to get sick and die.....no other fish are affected...well some of the fish I pickedup from the LFS their fins were not looking to great, but I think they werent being feed and the small tank was way overcrowded, and they were starved....but the fish in question i picked up from petsmart and seemed fine untill this morning please help.

Can you give us some information, water stats for ammonia, nitrIte, nitrAte, ph. How long has the tank been set up?, how was it cycled? What fish is it? What other fish are in the tank and how many of each? Tank temperature?

Is there any red streaks in the white or around the edges of it?

Size of tank in gallons or litres.
How many fish and which type.
Water stats in ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and ph.

With columnaris you have to preform alot of salt baths aday. it stresses the fish to much.
Whats your location for a med.
Is the mouth rotting away.

I have a 60 gallon recently set up, I used live sand and my filter that used to be on my 30 gallon to cycle it quick, I have one 50gln filter and one 60 galloon filter, Im not sure about the water I know the ammonia is ok,I check it regularly.I have all african cichlids, the fish in question is a red zebra I believe. I got it from the various A. cichlid tank, I only had it for two days then noticed the cotton mouth stuff, i also noticed today that there's tiny red spots under the fuzzy white, I thought maybe it was from fighting with the other fish?

I have :

2 kenyyi
1 OB peacock
2 Red jewel
2 yellow labs
1 bumble bee?
1 Elongated Mbuna? not sure exctly what it is