What is this?

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

Cmackey3

Reaction score
My daughters betta had a white spot that has grown and is eating away at his dorsal area. I have tried several types of antibiotic treatments suggested by my fish supply store. I do not think this is fin rot but I am at a loss and am very worried about him. He is eating week an active but I think the dorsal loss is affecting his ability to swim well.

I included an early picture of the spot and what he looks like now.

Attachments

• IMG_8901.jpeg
    IMG_8901.jpeg
    286.7 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_8905.jpeg
    IMG_8905.jpeg
    222.7 KB · Views: 26
  • 70656370099__814A77A4-2541-43C8-BEB0-7C6335BF731B.jpeg
    70656370099__814A77A4-2541-43C8-BEB0-7C6335BF731B.jpeg
    279.5 KB · Views: 27
IDK it could be a water problem.
do a water change.

Colin T would have a list of what to do.

Welcome to TFF

I'm no disease expert, but that poor fish is in very bad shape

@Colin_T , have a look

Those antibiotic treatments could have destroyed the beneficial bacteria in the tank. Whatever the issue is, you should do a large water change immediately.

I would ask Colin_T he’s always got good info for sick fish. It’s kind of hard to tell from the pictures do you have a normal (white light) setting for the lights rather than the colors? It might be a bit easier to see the fish if you do.

Check the water quality for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and pH. Post results in numbers.

What medications did you use and how long did you use them for?

Need clear pictures taken under normal white light.

Here are some better pictures. I had the water quality test several times and it came out good. I took pictures of the meds I have tried and I also did salt water dips based on recommendations from my fish store.