Want To Start A Small Reef Tank

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

juhason

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hello!! I have finally decided I am ready to try my hand at saltwater tanks! I have a couple years experience but only with freshwater.

So I have a spare 10 gallon and 29 gallon. I want this to be as cheap as possible. Now obviously the 10 gallon will be cheaper start-up cost, but as long as the 29 gallon is not too much more, I'm ok with it.

So which do you think is the better route for me to take? I want to have live rock, soft corals and mushrooms, and a couple fish.
In the 10 gallon I was thinking either 1-2 small clownfish (the smaller species) OR 1-2 damsel fish OR 1 firefish. In the 30 gallon I have no idea.

If possible I would like to know all the equipment I would need to get started as well as what lighting you guys would recommend for the corals (also good beginner corals) and stocking suggestions?  Also I am getting a little confused on how to do water changes, I'm not sure how I'm supposed to get the correct amount of salt back in the tank after I change the water.

Ok so I'll start with your first question then once we figure out that one we can go from there.

As for tank sizes in saltwater a larger tank is usually easier because water perimeters are more stable. That being said a 10 gallon tank can be done my brother has a very nice 10 gallon nano reef that's stunning.

The 10 gallon will of corse be cheaper lights can be smaller, less rock, less sand all of this will make cost lower but if you go with the small tank you will need to do more regular care like water changes and such. Missing a water change on a small tank can be really bad.

Something else to keep in mind is really I'd say the max for a 10 gallon would be one small clownfish and maybe some shrimp.