Upgraded Tank, New Fish - Advice Appreciated

leeman

Reaction score
Hi everyone
I recently upgraded from a year old 40l fishpod to a 120l fishpod. I added some new fish on with the old ones and wanted opinions on my choices.
Old tank transferred - 2 albino cats, 2 shrimp, 2 assassin snails, 3 neons, 2 danios, 1 dwarf gourami and a pleco.
Added new fish - 5 small angel fish, 4 tiger barbs.
Can anyone offer advice as to how the new guys will interact as im new to barbs and angels.
Any advice on habits etc would be great.
Thanks

To be honest the tank is too small for angels. They need tanks of at least 18 inches high and around 3 feet long. Also tiger barbs are notorious for fin nippers. They go for most fish but they especially go for fish with long fins so mixing them with gouramis is not a good idea. Tiger barbs aggression does calm down when they are in big numbers. A minimum of 6 is required but the more the better. Around 10-12 would calm them down but IMO your tank is still to small to add those kind of numbers.

By "albino cats" do you mean albino corys? If so then these require larger groups as well... A minimum of 6. Same for the neons.

If it was my tank then I would of just upped the number of neons to say 15, up the number of corys to 6-8, keep the snails, possibly up the shrimp and add another 2 dwarf gourami (1 male, 2 female to avoid aggression)

What plec is it you have? The smaller types like bristlenoses and clown plecs only get to around 6 inches so that shouldn't be too bad for your tank although not ideal. Make sure you have a sand bottom (substrate) in your tank for the corys and plec as gravel can cause injurys (unless its smooth)

Thanks for the reply.
I hope i cover everything below.
I did mean corys yeah, sorry. They have been with me over a year now, quite happy too.
The new tank is 29" x 13" x 16 inches.
Not sure wat kind of plec, hes been with me a year now, hes about 5.5 inches.