Tropical Convert To Marine. Lots Of Questions :/

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

phishyphil

Fish Addict
Reaction score
Okay so I have been keeping FW fish, planted tanks + cichlids for the past 3 years and always wanted to try my hand at a SW setup.

After gaining a fair amount of experience with various tanks, I now find myself once again in the vast dessert of information in regards to SW, and I am not afraid to admit I know NOTHING of the subject, however, I am here to learn. Here is what I had in Mind for my intentions for the SW tank.

Possible Switch to The Salty Side

Tank Volume : 330 Litre (75 Gallon)​
Tank Size : 48”x 19” x 29”​
Plan : Fish Only With Live Rock (to begin with
yes.gif
)​
Planned Substrate : Aragonite Sand. 1.5” Bed (25 kg) (55lbs)​
Live Rock : 40kg (£450) Or 20KG LR (£225) + 25kg Reef Stone (£179.99)​
Filtration : Biological (Live Rock) Mechanical (Foams, Filter Floss) Chemical (Carbon and phosphate/nitrate removers)​
Turnover : 10-20x Tank (3000-6000 lph) 1000 from filter, 3000 x 2 powerheads​
Lighting : 32” from substrate​
2 x 14000k 39w T5​
1 x Actinic 39w T5​
1 x Led Moonlight Strip​
Salinity Level : 1.023​
Lighting Period :
1 pm – Actinic’s On
2 pm - 14k's ON
8.45pm – Moonlights ON​
9 pm - 14k's OFF Actinic’s OFF
10 pm - Everything Off​

Potential Stocking

2 x Common Clown Fish (Male and Female)​
4 x Fire Fish​
3 x Kaudern Cardinal’s​
6 x Scarlet Reef Hermit Crabs (with Lots of empty shells for them)​
5 x Yellow Clown Goby​
3 x Cleaner Shrimp​

Questions :
1. Where to buy Caribsea Argonite sand cheapest?​

2. What Grain Size sand to use?​

3. Will this Lighting Set up work with my desired set up?​

4. What suitable Beginner Stocking would be advised for a Marine Newbie?​

5. Where to buy, and which reef salt? What is the cheapest and best?​

6. Do I need to stick the LR together (i.e. Silicone, epoxy) or just place it?​