Total Beginner With 3 Pregnant Amanos

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

MirandaMarie

Reaction score
Hello! I'm something of a rambler so please forgive me if this is a long intro before I get to my question. I'd really appreciate any help that can be offered by more experienced aquarium enthusiasts!
Last Christmas, I got all the equipment etc to set up a 20 gallon tank (after much hinting to my family).

It was set up end of December and I did quite a bit of aquascaping with it. Lots of lava rocks (including a cave), plants, a good quality light and filter and heater, active substrate etc. I let it cycle for about 3 months and by then I was struggling with algae (balancing the light and fertilizers plus new plants proved challenging, since this is my first try at this kind of thing). My plants were doing well despite the algae, but I read up on algae eaters and ended up getting 5 tiger nerite snails. They didn't even begin to touch the algae, even with the light dialed back and stopping with the fertilizer for a while. So I researched some other algae eaters to add as well and ordered 10 amano shrimp. They arrived with 2 extras and I added them to the tank about 3 weeks ago. They're keeping up with the algae perfectly with enough left over consistently that I am not concerned about them starving. I'm also supplementing with shrimp foods and snacks, and keeping the calcium up in the tank.