Swordtails breeding - help?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

gabrielgalhano

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

So, I'm really new to this species, I recently added 5 to may tank (1 male and 4 females) for the first time.
I did a little research about the conditions to breed them and watched some videos about it aswell, however some doubts remained.

The things that is bothering me the most is that I can't tell when a female is pregnant unless it is VERY pregnant. In some of the videos I watched they were showing pregnant females and females giving birth that I wouldn't even say they were pregnant let alone that they were about to give birth.
So any tips on how to spot the signs of pregnancy/closing to birth? I read about the gravid spot, similar to other species of livebearers, but it didn't seam as easy to see as it is in guppies, for example.

Any other tips or advise regarding this species are very much welcome! As well as guesses or some kind of glossary I can look at to figure out their colors!

I'll leave here some pictures of my 4 females, btw! (you can also see half of the male in pic 3 🤣 )

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

These all look like young fish, just be patient you will know when they are pregnant.
They are all around 6cm (2,3 inches). They are not as tiny as they look 😅

Either way, I was asking just to learn a bit more about them and be well pepared, not because I want them to start breeding already ^_^ Knowledge is never too much 😇

Hey there :)
This usaually happen when putting male and females in the same tank :whistle:;) 😇 especially when it comes to swordtails (and Platies, Mollies, Guppies).
Unless your tank is large enough you might contemplate a fingerling invasion :lol: as they are very prolific fishes !

spot the signs of pregnancy
Maybe you could see eggs against the light especially females of light color.

closing to birth?