Stocking Ideas

June FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

finchfarm

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I’m a veteran fish hobby keeper and have kept everything from beginners fish (swordtails, guppies, etc), to more exotics including discus, knifefish, and a Pacu at one time.

I haven’t had any fish in a couple years after my 20-something year old Silver Dollar passed and I decided to renovate the room where my tank is, including repainting. I have a little bit of painting to finish up, and then I’ll be able to refill my tank, cycle it, and get some fish.

I currently have a 75 gallon tank, which measures 18x48 with a depth of 19. I will be keeping it freshwater. It’s set up with an AquaClear 110 filter. Other than that has black gravel, and a few faux plants (as the Silver Dollar was a live plant chomper) and other decor- since the tank is gutted at this point, I don’t mind if the gravel or decor gets scrapped, or I can keep it, either way).

The only major caveat I have with fish selection, is that even with a coral for a buffer and frequent water changes the pH in the tank runs consistently acidic (about 6.0 on the scale); LFS said that’s pretty normal for the water where I live and instead of fighting it and trying to manipulate the water chemistry, I just stick it with fish that will thrive where it naturally tends to set).

So, with all that in mind, given I’m restarting this tank from the ground up, do you have any ideas on fish I look into? Stay with gravel and fake decor? Try a natural substrate and real plants (inexperienced in this field)?