Stocking help!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Jack487

Reaction score
I am new to the fish keeping hobby and would like some advice for appropriate stocking for a 10 gallon fish tank I am going to buy, here is a list of fish I really like;
Dwarf gourami
Corydoras
Harlequin rasboras
Ember tetras
Cardinal tetras

If anyone could tell me combinations of these fish that would be alright with a 10 gallon o would really apreciate it thank you

Welcome to TFF. :hi:

First question is, what are the water parameters of your source water (tap presumably)? Meaning the GH (general or total hardness), KH (carbonate hardness or Alkalinity) and pH? You should be able to find this data from your municipal water authority if you're on city water. Check their website.

This is very important for all fish, but especially with "nano" type small fish that will more likely be wild caught and thus more fussy with water. The fish mentioned here are all soft water species, but if your source water is especially hard, that won't work.

Moving on to some comments on the species themselves, assuming we have no water issues...I would forget dwarf gourami and stay with small fish. This species (DG) can (depending upon its breeding origin) be a carrier of the iridovirus which is not treatable. Aside from this, a 10g is not all that much space for this fish and combining it with very small fish can be problematic. There are some suitable smaller gourami if you are interested in gourami, though not as brightly coloured.

Corydoras if the "dwarf" species are fine. Corydoras pygmaeus, C. habrosus or C. hastatus are the three common dwarfs; a group of 9-10 of whichever species. Some of the slightly larger species could also work, thinking of pandas (C. panda). A group of 6-7. I'd want to know more about the water parameters, but all of these like cooler temperatures (low 70's, with 75-76F max. And they need sand substrate.