Stocking 57L

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

FishFinger90

Reaction score
Hi
I am new to the hobby and have just purchased a 57L tank.

Iā€™m hoping to gradually build to something like:
6 panda corys
4 or 5 guppies
2 or 3 amano shrimp
Maybe 1 nerite snail
Probably sand substrate.

Does that sound reasonable and any tips on plants? Cheers.

Hi
I am new to the hobby and have just purchased a 57L tank.

Iā€™m hoping to gradually build to something like:
6 panda corys
4 or 5 guppies
2 or 3 amano shrimp
Maybe 1 nerite snail
Probably sand substrate.

Does that sound reasonable and any tips on plants? Cheers.
Hi! cories do need sand substrate, they filter it to eat apparently! What are the dimensions of the tank? Do you know the Ph, GH, and KH of the water? (If you donā€™t have a test kit, you can take water samples to your LFS and they will test GH and kh, you will definitely want an API freshwater master test kit though) The most important first steps of setting up a tank would be cycling it, and picking appropriate stock! Glad you came here, we are happy to answer any questions you may have, and Welcome!

As you give your location as England, you should be able to find your hardness (GH) on your water company's website. If you can't find it, tell us which company and we'll have a look. You need numbers rather than words - and the unit of measurement as there are several they could use. The reason you need this is because guppies are hard water fish while cories are soft water fish.

Cycling is very important. This link tells you why it's important, and how to cycle a tank ready for fish

I notice you want plants in the tank - if you intend a lot of fast growing plants, you can use them to cycle the tank (that's called a silent or plant cycle) though if you want a few slow growing plants it is better to do a fishless cycle, then add the plants when the cycle finishes.

Thanks for your help so far.