Sterializing Canister Filter Media

Kou3

Reaction score
Hello

After trying twice with my tank and my fish died, i am doing a full re-design and cleaning for the tank, so i removed everthing out and will start from 0

My question is, how can i disinfect/sterialize my Canister Media? I have 3 containers, Seachem Matrix, Eheim Substrat, Fluval Rings, bleach solution? let it sit and dry in the sun?

Thank you..

Do you know why your fish died?

Do you know why your fish died?
Yep, first time it was Velvet from a newly brought fish. Second time i lost 2 angels i don’t know why. So i am rebuilding the tank again to start again and be on the safe side.

I don’t know if you’re new to the hobby but are you familiar with the nitrogen cycle and why you need bacteria in the tank? Bleaching everything might be indicated if you have certain pathogens but would you have a source of gravel and/or filters from somebody’s healthy established aquarium? I’m not an expert and have never bleached any of my aquarium stuff so I’m not recommending or discouraging but you can’t have any trace left to poison the future fish. We have some very knowledgeable people here who can advise you better once we know more about your situation and experience.

Drying will kill most pathogens on aquarium equipment, including filter media. you can also heat the items up to 60C for 5-10 minutes and that will kill the bad things too, but it could damage the media so if it's plastic, use straight bleach for 5 minutes. If it's rock then hot water or oven for 10 minutes. or just leave it in the sun. You can soak it in salt water for 24 hours. just fill a bucket with tap water, add a heap of salt and leave it to sit in that. then rinse the items off under tap water.

If you knew what killed the other fish, you might not need to clean the filter.

Seems such a shame to go to this extent if it's unnecessary

Seems such a shame to go to this extent if it's unnecessary