So this is what I'm working with...

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

TheFishWhisperer

Reaction score
Hi! I made an intro post https://www.fishforums.net/threads/trying-to-decide.491424/ Since then I did some reading on this part of the forum and I realized I'm a complete noob when it comes to planted aquariums. I didn't even know anything about the Co2 injections. So I'm going to have to read more about that and decide how I want to go about it. I also have to save up before I really get into it (spent all my money on Christmas!). So it's going to be a work in progress for a while. Plenty of time to learn then!

But let me give you a description of what I (had) have so far. It's a standard 55g. It had sand, but I removed most of that and used 2 different substrates: 2 bags of CaribSea eco-complete planted aquarium substrate (with volcanic basalt), and one bag of Aqueon plant and shrimp sub (clay based). I admit, I have done no research on any of this till now. I ordered some aquatic grass seeds from Amazon, sprouted them in the tank (with water only up to the substrate level). I let them grow for a couple months till they were fully rooted. Then I filled the tank and got a couple plants, a couple guppies, three neons from the pet store. Tank is go. Well, the guppies murdered the neons. I never knew guppies were so hard core. Then Mrs Guppie, sadly I scared her to death cleaning the tank. Then Mr. Guppie wallowed in misery due to the loss of his mate. Meanwhile algae took over the tank and the grass ended up dying. And I noticed a snail. Darn pet store. The guppie died. The snail multiplied. One of the plants fell apart.