So I Have A Problem! :(

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Aethanyc

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hey guys, I've got a bit of a problem I was hoping you could help me with!

I'm a Uni student, I don't live too far from home (less than an hour's drive) during term time so getting my little 25L tank home for the 4 week holidays has been no problem at all...I've had the same fish for almost a year and they're all fighting fit! However, my burning desire for a larger tank overcame me this weekend and I bought a used Juwel 125L tank and cabinet off eBay for £107! Serious bargain! It also came with a Fluval U2 filter, a 250W heater, some rocks, a fake plant and a few ornaments, an air stone and 3D backing (which is sealed into the tank, nothing I can do about it), replacement filter pads and some finrot medicine.

So, where's my problem, right? Well!

My family is moving to Shouldham, Norfolk around the 22nd of April, and I go to Uni in Surrey, which is about 2 hours' drive. I'll be at home with my family from April/May until the end of September, when I'll be moving to my own place near Uni, obviously, and then I'll be there for a year. My question to you guys is...when on earth should I start planning this 125L tank?
I'm worried that if I start my fishless cycle as soon as we move to the new house that it won't finish until July, and by the time I stock my tank it'll be time to bag up the fish and the media and 50% of the water and move it all down to Surrey!

So should I wait until September and just set it all up then? I'd really, really rather not wait that long, but if the fishless cycle is going to take a very long time then I'm wondering if setting the tank up over the summer will be a good idea. :/

Please help!

- Nyth

Hi there.