Small white worms, help!

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Emarie

Reaction score
I am fairly new to keeping fish. I have a 10gal freshwater tank, has been set up for about 6 months. I have 4 serape tetras and I do a 25% WC weekly, including a gravel vac, and I haven't had many problems as of yet. Yesterday when I went to feed the fish, I noticed what looked to just be small white particles all over the tank glass. They are microscopic in size. Upon closer inspection, these particles are moving and appear to be worms! What are they and how do I rid of them?

Attachments

• 20190518_180434.jpg
    20190518_180434.jpg
    381.6 KB · Views: 76
Look like detritus worms which we all have in our substrate. No big deal. If you cut back on feeding then they’ll go back into substrate. Probably feeding too much.

Won’t let me edit above post right now but wanted to tell you to look at the worm. If it has a distinct pointed head then it is planaria. You’ll need to treat for them. If no distinct head then detritus. They look like the latter. Good luck!

Won’t let me edit above post right now but wanted to tell you to look at the worm. If it has a distinct pointed head then it is planaria. You’ll need to treat for them. If no distinct head then detritus. They look like the latter. Good luck!
They are literally SO small I couldn't tell. That picture is zoomed all the way in on my phone. There are hundreds of them though.

I’m sure it’s detritus worms. Just clean and vacuum substrate and cut back on feeding. Thar’s All you need to do. Good luck!

They normally live in the substrate but come out and swarm over the tank when the gravel is dirty or the water is not perfect. They will also swarm if you add medications.

Reduce the amount of dry food going into the tank.