Red Eared Slider...

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

raeburter

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hi,

I want to know some things before i get one of them...Since in singapore onli allow them to be kept..I might have a try at them..

1.How big can they get?
2.How long can they leave?
3.Is a 1 ft tank ok for them?
4.Can they scratch the tank?(its a dumb Q but im a newbie at them)
5.WHat they eat???
6.Do they need substrate??

Thanks

1. Males can get up to about 10 inches and females to about 12 inches long. But you won't be able to tell the difference between a male and female until they are at least 4 inches long.

2. They can live about 20 to 25 years some have been reported to live up to 40 years!! So this is definetly a long term pet and you must be dedicated to it and don't be surprised if it out lives you.

3. If you are talking about 12x12x12 (inches) then definetly not because that is only 7 gallons! You need at least 10 gallons per inch of turtle. So if you have a 3 inch turtle you need at least
a 30 gallon tank. But if you get a hatchling and you want to start off with a small tank I would recommend starting with a 20 gallon tank not a 10 gallon. It is always to get the largest tank possible not the smallest. Remember that in the future you may need a 100-120 gallon tank if not a pond outside. You save more money getting a bigger tank than upgrading to a larger tank every year or as it grows. When I bought my RES it was only 1.5 inches long it is now a year since I bought it and it is 3 inches in length. I bought it at 1.5 inches with a 55 gallon tank. Now I won't have to upgrade until it gets to 5.5 inches :D That will be about November of next year :D But Im going to make a D.I.Y 100-120 turtle pond in my backyard :D

4. No I don't believe they can scratch the glass (especially a hatchling).